Skip to content

And now a deep breath…

January 14, 2011

© jmillerphoto.com - Pyrrhuloxia (Adult Male)

It has been a long nine days since I last poked my head out.  When I returned to school I found that my timeline for turning in my initial draft of my thesis was much shorter than I expected.  About two weeks shorter.  Hello Plan B.  Ever since I’ve been pulling 10-12 hour days during the week and 8-10 on the weekend.  Thankfully as of tonight I have a draft that isn’t too bad.  About 130 pages worth.  As much as I’d like to check out a couple of the local bird blinds in the area, I will instead be spending the holiday weekend reviewing what I have, polishing a little bit here and there, and taking care of some formatting issues that are painfully obvious even at this stage in the game.  I should be up for air in another week or so.

While you’re waiting for my re-emergence, may I recommend checking out the LensWork podcast.  Brooks Jensen puts out these nuggets of art photography goodness periodically and they are almost uniformly great listens.  They’re brief, to the point, and often on the edge of profound.  He has published two in the last week and the back episodes are worth the time to download and listen to.

Catch y’all in another week or so…

About the image:

This image of a male Pyrrhuloxia (Cardinalis sinuatus) was made on my trip home to Texas over the holidays.  Often called a Desert Cardinal, it belongs to the same basic family as the Northern Cardinal.  Instead of the tell-tale Cardinal Red, gray dominates this bird with red accents on the male.  The females very closely resemble the female Northern Cardinals from a distance.  However the beak shape and coloration is significantly different.  They also tend to be more timid than the Northern Cardinals.  At least in San Angelo it is the winter that is the best time to get them close up and personal.  They’re willing to trade some circle of fear space for a free meal from the feeders.

About the last image:

The image from my last blog posting was a Cooper’s Hawk (Accipiter cooperii) also captured near the blind in San Angelo State Park.  I have a full story to tell on this one which will have to wait for another time.  Beautiful and incredibly patient bird.  A portfolio shot.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 9:06 pm

    That’s an absolutely gorgeous photo of the Cooper’s Hawk. Nice going, Jim.

Leave a Reply

