Skip to content

My Favorite Places…

January 26, 2011

I’m introducing a new blog feature that I hope you will enjoy. While spending some quality time in the bird blind at San Angelo State Park over the holidays, I reflected that this was one of my favorite places in the world to make images. Peaceful. Quiet (except for the birds, of course). A great place to make images. And then the thought hit me…maybe a series of blog entries on the places I really like to make images. And since I run this place, I made the command decision to do it.

The intent is to keep the locales very specific. I could do one entry on Iceland, but it might be an effort nearly as long as my thesis. Instead I can think of at least a dozen places in Iceland so there is the fodder for a dozen blog entries. There are times that I will break up a place like a state or national park into a few entries as well. The idea will be short snippets here and there that area easily readable and digestible, just like a good blog entry should.

My lead-off hitter will be the bird blind at San Angelo State Park, which should be up in the next day or so.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 4:02 pm

    Good idea, Jim. By the way, Ann and I have expanding the feeding area around to the east side of the blind. We hanged a Thistle feeder and seed feeder, fixed up a basin of water, and have been sowing seed on the ground. The results are in and lots of birds are using the new area.

    In other news, a Phainopepla arrived about three weeks ago and it is still hanging around. It is only one of about eight sightings of it in this area in the last half-century, according to Terry Maxwell.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

