Skip to content

Whew! Glad that is finally over!

May 29, 2011

Sorry y’all.  I have been away from the blogs for the last few weeks, finishing up my degree and then attending some additional specialized training before I head back to Texas.  I am sitting safely back in Dayton, Ohio this weekend, enjoying the seasonably warm temperatures–I am told sunshine has been all but absent for the last six weeks in my absence.  After the holiday weekend (more about that later), I have some administrative things I have to do for which my presence is required.  If everything goes as planned I will start the long drive back to Texas so I can return a somewhat more normal existence for my employer.

In between getting the oil changed on the car and maybe getting in some photography, I will be working this weekend on a couple of blog entries from my favorite places series.  I have one on San Angelo’s International Water Lily Collection in the hopper awaiting some TLC and I think an Icelandic location may be next in the series.

Speaking of the holiday weekend, let us not forget those who have given their life in defense of the United States.  While it often gets drowned out by sales, family outings, and mass consumption of food and adult beverages, the reason for this holiday is to honor those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our nation.  Regardless of the war or the battlefield that it took place on, we owe our freedom and our existence to the soldiers, sailors, airmen, and Marines who have given their lives defending our great nation against all enemies, foreign and domestic.  Take a couple of minutes this weekend to remember the sacrifices they made.  Remember freedom is never free.

Have a safe weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

