Skip to content

Down into the weeds…

September 13, 2011

© jmillerphoto.com - Twelve-spotted Skimmer

Nothing new from me–I’m still buried with life but I am working on dragonfly ID’s to help knock the blood pressure down a few notches.  In doing the work of running checklists and their accompanying image searches I stumbled upon a quick instructional article on how another photographer does his work work with odonates.  I must admit I am very impressed and came away contemplating a new technique or two.  The photographer is Tom Webster and his piece is titled (aptly enough) How I Photograph Dragonflies.  I was impressed to see that I am doing many of the same things that he does, though he favors the use a tripod where I am more of a monopod kind of photographer.  But to each their own.  His images are stunning and his discussion is to the point sans a lot of self-cheerleading that we as photographers tend to do.

I bumped into his article looking to find one particular dragonfly in particular (wasn’t successful to that point) from my shoot at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center.  That should tell you that I am slowly but surely working my way to getting that photo shoot report online, which I’m hoping to have by the end of the week.

Happy reading!

About the image:

One of my favorite dragonfly images of all that I have made.  This Twelve-spotted Skimmer (Libellula pulchella) with an HDR treatment from a photo shoot last year at Siebenthaler Fen.  I pull this one out every six months or so because I really enjoy the image.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

