Skip to content

A Few Questions Answered…

September 30, 2011

© jmillerphoto.com - Brownzed Cowbird

I’ve been a bit quiet for the last few days.  A certification test coming up very soon and no photography last weekend has resulted in a dearth of blogging.  But, I’m taking a very short break from study to cleanse the eyes and soul and I thought this would be a good time to answer a couple of questions I have received via e-mail that warrant sharing to the crowd (modified a bit to protect the innocent and the guilty).

Why don’t you blog about where you’re going to shoot next?
In everything that I’ve done on the web over the years I’ve tried to be purposefully vague about where I’m going and what I’m doing.  Sometimes I will hint to it (as in my recent trip to Ohio), but even then I still kept things somewhat vague.  Ohio is a mighty big state 🙂  Being too specific about your travels on the web can sometimes lead to unfortunate and costly consequences.

Why don’t you publish the photo shoot reports faster?
As John Lennon once opined, “Life is what happens when we’re busy making other plans.”  I shoot faster than I can write and/or identify what I’ve shot.  When I’ve got a line of previous shoots that I’ve done that I’ve not written about, I don’t want to publish a new shoot before I post an older shoot.  I’m trying to keep things down to a week or so and in the future I definitely want to keep it under 10 days, if only because I have received feedback that others use these posts as a stepping stone to their shooting.

Where are you going to be doing art/arts & crafts shows this holiday season?
No shows this year, I’m afraid.  With my move back to south Texas from Ohio and with foot surgery very close on the horizon there was just no way I could justify the time involved for doing maybe one show.  I’m hoping to return to shows in the spring.

Why Canon and not (insert manufacturer)?
I’ve been using Canon bodies and lenses since I got back into film photography in 1998.  When I went from manual to auto-focus in 2001 I made the conscious decision to stay Canon because the auto-focus body felt comfortable in my hand and the method of operation stayed true to what I was used to.  I considered a couple of other manufacturers, but Canon just felt good.  Nikon, Sony, and a couple others make fine digital cameras, but once I bought into the auto-focus (EF) lens system from Canon, it would cost far too much to change horses.  And besides, my 10D, 30D, and now 60D have all treated me extraordinarily well over the years–why change?

Next in line is maybe a favorite places post and, if the weather and good luck is with me, another photo shoot post.

About the image:

A Bronzed Cowbird (Molothrus ater) perched on an ornamental fixture at San Angelo State Park‘s wildlife view area (aka Bird House)He was engaged in practicing his mate-attracting ritual, but there were no ladies in the area to appreciate his attempts.  Or as the song goes, he’s looking for love in all the wrong places 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 10:11 pm

    Thanks for publishing your reason for not announcing trips in advance. I am the same way (glad I’m not the only one).

Leave a Reply

