Skip to content

Rain and more Rain!

October 12, 2011

© jmillerphoto.com - Mission Espada

I have likely said it in this space before that there is no such thing as bad rain in South Texas.  And there isn’t–especially this year where much of the state is in what the National Weather Service describes as extreme to exceptional drought.  San Antonio, as an example, is about 10″ behind on rain.  So when 3.5″ of the liquid sunshine shows up to town, I don’t complain.  Or if I do, I don’t complain very loudly.

And so I won’t complain very loudly.  I will say that my most detailed photography plans in weeks, maybe months, were diverted down the gutter by the dihydrogen monoxide falling from the sky.  I had a birding trip and a dragonfly trip planned, but alas, too wet and too dark.  I did take advantage of drier conditions on Monday to visit the 4 missions in San Antonio that are maintained by the National Park Service.  It was a good scouting trip for better/brighter weather to come.

Next weekend’s plans are set as well and it looks like the weather will cooperate.  This week is a week of trying to get caught up on some admin tasks around the home office and maybe work a print or two.  I once again have a photo exhibition in the works for the spring and I’ll talk about that as the time comes closer.

Fingers crossed for good weather to come–I really want to go out and make some images.

About the Image:

This is the front of the church at Mission San Francisco de la Espada (St. Francis of the Sword).  It is the southern-most of the five San Antonio missions that still exist today.  The most famous of these is the Alamo.  I only carried one lens with me on the trip (70-300 4-5.6 IS) and 70mm was far too close for what I was trying to do, though with weather being what it was it really didn’t matter which lens I brought with me.  When weather cooperates next I will return with my 17-40L.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 2:09 pm

    Nice pic of the mission, Jim. It was nice to get a little more rain here, too, though it was not a drought breaker. But it is a start. 🙂

Leave a Reply

