Skip to content

There’s nothing like South Texas in October…

October 16, 2011
Western Scrub-Jay

© jmillerphoto.com - Western Scrub-Jay

Talk about a 180º shift from last weekend.  It has been an outstanding weekend of weather here in South Texas.  Temps in the mid-80’s, sunny skies, and time to enjoy it.  Outstanding.  Life is good.

However, I am now looking at a stack of about 700 images that need to be tagged/key-worded before those descriptions are lost to time.  So that is my first task before I share all of the awesome details of my weekend’s activities.

A couple of thoughts to keep you entertained while I’m working in the trenches.  First, Cook’s Slough Nature Preserve in Uvalde is outstanding.  110+ acres of trails, ponds, sloughs, wildlife.  Five bird life list adds and at least one dragonfly life list add.  In October no less.

Second, I was very impressed with the new bird blind at Pedernales Falls State Park.  Great lighting and well placed landing spots.  I had forgotten how much fun a good blind could be to shoot in.  Two huge thumbs up to Texas Parks & Wildlife and staff, management, and friends of Pedernales Falls.

So into the trenches I go with the keywording in between, ya know, silly things like going to work.  Couple of blog entries coming soon…

About the image:

Western Scrub-Jay (Aphelocoma californica) perched on a prop inside of the bird blind at Pedernales Falls SP.  Beautiful bird, if maybe a little thin after a really dry year in this part of the world.  More images from this trip and my trip to Cook’s Slough coming soon–likely they will hit the Flickr account first and you can see those as they hit on the right hand margin of this page.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 8:14 pm

    Great post. I appreciated the info on the Cook’s Slough Nature Park.

  2. October 16, 2011 8:22 pm

    Thanks, Bob, and you’re welcome. Cook’s Slough is an outstanding place, but I’m glad I did it when the weather cooled down. That was a heck of a walk yesterday. I was so glad that all I had to do was sit in the bird blind today–just the walk from the car to the blind about killed me 🙂

Leave a Reply

