Skip to content

Half way through the week…

October 26, 2011
Variegated Meadowhawk

© jmillerphoto.com - Variegated Meadowhawk

While I had a few spare minutes this evening I wanted to at least poke my head in and give some updates.

I hope you enjoyed the blog entries about what is now not last weekend but the weekend before.  I went out to Warbler Woods Bird Sanctuary in Cibolo, Texas this past weekend and had an outstanding time.  I will have a blog post about it hopefully in the next day or so. I just finished keywording everything last night so now I need to belly up to the bar and write the report.

I also went back to Mitchell Lake Audubon Center to see how things have changed since the last visit.  That too was an outstanding visit with plenty of images to share.  That trip still hasn’t been keyworded.

This week has proven to be, well, busy.  In many regards I am still working on that work/home/photography balance.  Do you smell that?  That’s the smell of foreshadowing another blog entry once I get through a couple of the shooting reports that are in the wings.

I did finish my more extended blog post about the Pedernales Falls State Park Blind #2 on my original blog (which is aptly named Texas Bird Blinds) and that published today.

I also spent most of today with pre-op appointments and honestly, I’m pretty worn out.  So I might get one of the blog entries done for publication tomorrow or it may end up waiting for Friday.  There’s that work/home/photography balance again.  You know, somebody should write about that.

Hope your week has found you well and I will have more out shortly.

About the image:

This is an image of a Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum) that I made about six weeks ago at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center.  Before the wet-process purists start yelling at me about Photoshopping this image to get the sepia, you can save your breath because I did nothing more with this image that I would do with almost all of my images.  Crop, a little contrast adjustment, a little exposure adjustment, and sharpen it because of the inherent softness of the digital sensor.  Nothing more.  If you get it right in the camera, you don’t need Photoshop to help you out.  And if you still don’t believe me, look in the eyes.  You can see some faint elements of a lavenderish purple.  Or go to the Flickr image where it is a little more pronounced.  Or buy it when it is up for sale next year 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

