Skip to content

Photo Shoot Report: October 22, 2011 @ Warbler Woods Bird Sanctuary

October 27, 2011
Inca Dover

© jmillerphoto.com - Inca Dove

When I move to a new place or I have an extended business trip in a place I’ve never been, I try to make a list of potential places to make images at.  I have a few techniques that I will not share here (I have to have some secrets), but ultimately I end up with a list of a dozen or so potential places to make images.  From there then I try to sort them by order of where I want to go.  Sometimes I follow that order, and sometimes I all but throw a dart at the list or a draw a name out of a hat to figure out where I’m going to go next.

When we moved to our current home away from home, I had been making a list like that for a while.  Cook’s Slough Nature Park had been pretty high on the list and I grabbed that one the previous weekend.  So was Pedernales Falls State Park.  But this particular weekend I felt the need to stay a little closer to home.  I looked at my list and saw Warbler Woods Bird Sanctuary.  I noted on my list that I had gotten this from a couple of sources, to include some local birders.  So I went to their site, saw the instructions on getting access to the property, and decided that Saturday was the day I needed to head up there.

Before I get too much further into things, Warbler Woods Bird Sanctuary is access controlled.  I won’t go into the details here… their site does a good job of describing the how so I don’t feel the need to reinvent the wheel.  There is no fee involved, but there is a no-kidding IRS registered non-profit organization that handles the upkeep of the place and donations are certainly welcome.

All in all this is a really neat place to visit.  There is somewhere around 110 acres of property and there are numerous trails that run from place to place.  These trails are very well maintained and some are handicap accessible.  There is a map on the site showing the various paths and I can attest to the fact that it is very accurate to what you will find on the ground. I wish some state parks did as good of a job with accuracy of their maps.

There are also ponds, water features, and blinds available on the site.  These blinds are not the kind of blinds that you will find in places like Pedernales Falls or South Llano River State Parks nor or are they similar to what you will find in on ranches which have paid blinds.  But I found them to be very effective and I made quite a few images on the day.

So how did the images turn out.  Just okay.  But the fault for that rests directly on the guy who was holding the camera.  I should have brought my tripod.  If I had, then the somewhat fuzzy images I made from the blinds would have been far better.  I also would have been a little more patient and remained at a couple of the blinds longer.

I don’t have a bird list to share.  I turned mine in before I left.  Most of the usual suspects for this part of Texas were present to include the Inca Dove pictured above.

It was an outstanding morning of shooting.  Once I recuperate and can walk the trails again I will be heading back.  Big thanks to Susan and Don for the great work they do and for having such an outstanding place in which to watch the birds.

About the Image:

There were quite a few Inca Doves (Columbina inca) making the rounds at the Old Barn Blind.  I would have preferred if this one had move a foot or two back and a few inches to either side so I could get a better angled shot on it (as well as be able to see his legs).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2011 10:59 am

    Thanks for sharing all of this info about those places. I may be able to visit them. Great Inca photo, too.

    • October 29, 2011 11:42 am

      You’re welcome, Bob. You & your bride need to come down here sometime. Hope you had a good time in Big Bend.

      -jim

Leave a Reply

