Skip to content

Photo Shoot Report: October 23, 2011 @ Mitchell Lake Audubon Center

November 7, 2011
Familiar Bluet

© jmillerphoto.com - Familiar Bluet

The calendar was not being kind to me.  I knew I only had realistically one weekend left of the fall shooting season left where I had any degree of mobility.  Part one of the weekend was devoted to something new.  But I still had a Sunday to fill into the calendar.  After some thought I went to an old reliable–Mitchell Lake Audubon Center.

It had been over a month since I’d been to my most frequent visiting location.  A good solid rain had found its way into the area in the intervening time so I was curious as to how it changed the place.  What I found was that it had changed it for the better.  The water levels were up in nearly all of the ponds so the numbers of birds had improved.

Great Kiskadee

© jmillerphoto.com - Great Kiskadee

But on the Odonate side, the species spread got much narrower but the numbers in many cases were better.  I made a lot of images, but I just didn’t make a lot of good images.  The exception, however, was the plethora of Rambur’s Forktails that were, um, repopulating the species.  Far too many good images of that, and I won’t be sharing a one of them here.

The absolute highlight of the day was the Great Kiskadee that greeted me shortly after I arrived at the bird pond.  As noted in a previous blog entry, this bird had just recently been added to my life list the weekend before.  But the images were at a distance and with my gear and with the light present I wasn’t going to get any good shots.

However, this time the Kiskadee landed in a reasonably low tree not very far away from where I was at.  The lighting was still very tough, but I clicked off about 15 frames of the bird and was relatively happy with the results.

It was a good morning of shooting.  I was happy to get back out for the tail end of the dragonfly season.  I will be back out again for more shore birds, with a couple of thoughts here and there as to how I can do things better.  There were probably at least half a dozen keepers out of the shoot with one or two that will go into the portfolio.

About the images:

The Familiar Bluet (Enallagma civile) is a very common damselfly in South Texas and there were quite a few out there.  The highlight of my day was the Great Kiskadee (Pitangus sulphuratus).  I need to spend some time with this image in Photoshop to improve the lighting a bit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 7:16 pm

    Beautiful photo of the Kiskadee.

Leave a Reply

