Skip to content

And another life list add from Mitchell Lake…

November 9, 2011
Empress Leilia

© jmillerphoto.com - Empress Leilia butterfly

When I was working on something else this week I noticed that in my write-up on Mitchell Lake from October 23rd that I forgot one additional life list add.  This time on my butterfly list.  That add was a Empress Leilia (Asterocampa leilia) butterfly right at the center’s headquarters building.  Unfortunately the darn thing wouldn’t go to a “standard” orientation for me to get the best possible shot, but at least it was good enough for identification purposes.

I’m still in surgery recovery mode (which may explain how I missed the Empress… not an excuse, just an explanation).  My hope is that by the weekend I can find my way out to a public bird blind and make some images.  I’ve been cooped up for far too long.

About the Image:

Again, my friend the Empress would not rotate itself into the classic eyes/antenna up pose.  Nice to see another add to the list(s).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

