Skip to content

Let the week begin…

November 21, 2011
Ladder-backed Woodpecker

© jmillerphoto.com - Ladder-backed Woodpecker (female)

A happy Monday to you.  Yes, I know…happy Monday is a contradiction in terms much like honest politician or jumbo shrimp.  But for most of us in the States, it is a short week with a pair of days of gluttony on Thursday and Friday (food and shopping respectively).

It was a decent weekend.  I spent a good part of it trying to find the light.  I didn’t always succeed.  Temperatures were warm but lots of overcast to darken my subjects.  I took a scouting trip Saturday out to Medina River Natural Area on the south end of San Antonio and I will be returning in the spring (or possibly earlier…).  Sunday was a trip back to Pedernales Falls State Park to see what changes had occurred in terms of birds species in the blind in the almost a month since I got up there.

So now the week begins anew and there is a small stack of blog activity to be had this week that will include a photo shoot report on my trip up to Pedernales Falls and a couple of other things.

For now, enjoy one of  my early favorites from Sunday morning and I’ll catch up with you as the calendar moves a page or two forward.

About the image:

This female Ladder-backed Woodpecker (Picoides scalaris) spent a good deal of time in the bird blind on Sunday.  In this instance, she stayed still for quite a while and I made a lot of images of her.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 10:39 am

    Nice post and a great photo, Jim.

Leave a Reply

