Skip to content

So maybe I don’t have it all together…

December 9, 2011
Unidentified Texas Grasshopper

© jmillerphoto.com - Unidentified Texas Grasshopper

I take a good deal of pride in being able to find what it is that I want to find in my image library.  I learned today that I have some serious gaps in what it is I can and cannot find.

I was looking for a picture or two of Black Vultures or Turkey Vultures.  I remember where I was when I shot them like it was yesterday–on the road back from Dan & Cathy Brown’s Ranch in Christoval, Texas (aka The Hummer House for their hummingbird observation room).  But try as I might I could not find the blessed things.

As it turns out, I have an awesome handle on my digital asset management from my images from Iceland.  Down to the road number where the things were, proper spellings on churches, etc.  And I have an awesome handle on my images from mid-way through my Canon 30D days until today.  But in that gap between leaving Iceland and getting to Ohio that the tagging of my images is, well, spotty at best.

I found my last visit to the Brown Ranch right before I headed off to school.  But I know there’s another one in there somewhere.  I just don’t know where “there” is.

So it looks like I have yet another thing to start working on.  Darn it.

About the Image:

This yet-to-be identified species of Grasshopper was seen at San Angelo State Park near San Angelo, Texas.  I shot another image of a different grasshopper on this particular short hike at the South Shore unit of the park that I turned into a sale item (which has sold very well).  But this shows my less than thorough method of going through images and picking out winners.  This one is pretty cool, too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2011 3:48 pm

    Been there, done that ! 🙂

    • December 9, 2011 7:36 pm

      I hear ya, Bob. It is a struggle. Especially when you shoot as many frames as I do or when you shoot as many days in a week as you do. I was shocked to see how much I have to do to get caught up. Yikes. And I haven’t even looked at the 10D images.

Leave a Reply

