Skip to content

A Weekend Washed Away

December 12, 2011
Sleepy Orange

© jmillerphoto.com - Sleepy Orange butterfly

I hope you have been enjoying the series on keywording that I’ve found myself in. I have one last wrap-up post tomorrow to cover some of the things I’ve missed.

No photography this past weekend.  Once again the rain seems to have the weekends firmly in their grasp.  But I am not complaining.  As much as I want to go out and make images, Texas needs rain much worse than I need photography.  I’ll sit for a spell on the sidelines.  But the long-term forecast is once again showing rain for next weekend–I’m beginning to think that maybe somebody doesn’t want me out there taking pictures 😉

On the short term forecast for the blog is the wrap-up post that I mentioned and a quick few words about my trip out to Cook’s Slough Nature Park now a couple of weeks ago (though I’ve teased you now with a couple of images…)

About the image:
This Sleepy Orange butterfly (Abaeis nicippe) was a life list add on my trip to Cook’s Slough Nature Park.  While I’m reasonably certain I know what the butterfly was trying to feed on, I’m just hoping I didn’t step in it first.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 12:43 pm

    Great shot of the Sleepy Orange Butterfly. I was thinking, I may have a longer bird life list than you, but my butterfly list is only 2. 🙂 A Monarch and a Queen. But hey, that’s a start. 🙂

    • December 12, 2011 1:50 pm

      Thanks, Bob. I bet your butterfly list is much longer than you think, especially with the time you’ve spent in the SASP Blind. I need to do a full butterfly blog entry one of these days.

Leave a Reply

