Skip to content

Can I Take A Day Off to Recover From My Weekend?

December 17, 2011
White-winged Dove

© jmillerphoto.com - White-winged Dove

I’m exhausted…

As I’m writing this late Saturday night I feel like a truck has run over me.  Over the last 26 hours I have driven more hours than I have slept.

But that is okay.

I had the chance to go back to San Angelo to help participate in a holiday meal distribution event that I have, in one way or another, supported each year for the last 5.  It is always great to see a gymnasium full of food disappear into a swarm of trucks, mini-vans, SUV’s, and other implements of transportation–getting it out to those that might go hungry if not for the generosity of donors and the hard work of volunteers.

I also had the chance to spend a couple of hours at San Angelo State Park, enjoying the simple pleasure of sitting in the bird blind and listening to the birds do their thing.  That helped to sand off the spiky edges of the stresses that come from pre-holiday traffic, even if the morning was less than productive photographically.

After I recover and regroup I will do a quick blog entry here about the trip to the blind.  I will do a follow-up post over at the more blog-centric Texas Photo Blinds talking about “the good” and the “needs improvement” to supplement what others have said about the blind in recent posts.

And I still owe a few words about my recent visit to Cook’s Slough.

But now some rest.  I need it.

About the Image:

How I have missed the White-winged Doves (Zenaida asiatica).  This one creeped to quickly towards me  for me to get all of the bird into the frame.  But then I looked into his eye and it was worth the relook and the square crop.  From today’s visit to SASP.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2011 10:34 pm

    Hey, you cotton pickin’ guy, why didn’t you call when you came in. Ann and I went to Middle Concho Park this afternoon, hoping to take you there. We saw 34 species, certainly you could have added to your life list. Plus get some amazing pictures. We were disappointed.

    • December 18, 2011 7:02 am

      Sorry, Bob. The trip was still not a for certain thing until Friday afternoon. I tried to e-mail you early Saturday AM to let you know where I was going to be. But we were wheels up again by about 1:30pm–had to get back for something here. I’ll probably be back in a couple of weeks for another event. I’ll send you another e-mail.

Leave a Reply

