Skip to content

Excavation in Progress

December 27, 2011
Pyrrhuloxia

© jmillerphoto.com - Pyrrhuloxia

I have made some progress on keywording my backlog of 21,000 images.  As you may remember, this covers a time frame from when I start shooting with my Canon 30D until about the time I left for school some 17 months or so later.  I am through 4 of the photo shoots and over 1,100 images.  I have been lucky that there were long stretches of the same species of bird, making the process move by a little quicker.  But at this pace I may be done by Christmas of next year.  I need to find more time to work on these…

About the Image:
This female Pyrrhuloxia (Cardinalis sinuatus), also known as the Desert Cardinal, was perched nice and pretty for me in the bird blind at San Angelo State Park.  For the technically inclined and/or curious, it was 1/160th of a second at f6.3 at ISO 200.  It was with my 300mm f4 USM IS L lens.  I had not purchased my 1.4x Extender which has been a nearly permanent attachment to that lens from the time I purchased it.  It was not an easy sun day, but the lady Pyrrhuloxia turned just the right way to make a pretty portrait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2011 12:28 pm

    Nice pyrrhuloxia imagae, Jim.

Leave a Reply

