Skip to content

Eureka!

December 30, 2011
Black & White Warbler

© jmillerphoto.com - Black & White WarblerIt

It is amazing what you can find sometimes when you aren’t looking for it.

I was going through some old e-mail when I stumbled upon a request I had sent to Dan & Cathy Brown, owners of the Brown Ranch and the Hummer House just outside of Christoval, Texas.  I had just learned of their place and the hummingbirds and was asking if their observation room was going to be open.

By taking the date of that e-mail and then digging into my image archives, I found what I had been looking for a few weeks ago.  My long lost images of some Black Vultures that I had hoped to use for the lead up on another blog entry.

Black Vulture

© jmillerphoto.com - Black Vulture

But I also remember what was so special about that day–local bird banders were out at the ranch banding birds and I had some neat images of that as well.  As I scrolled through the images I found that I had at two more birds to add to the life list bird.  The Black & White Warbler that you see leading off this blog entry and the White-eyed Vireo, which I made a couple of okay images of but nothing to display here.  There is a third bird that has the look of a grosbeak, but I cannot match it up with anything that is supposed to be there.  I’ll have to work that issue later.  But for now increment the count up to 128.

So definitely a 2 for 1.  I found my vulture (which undoubtedly will come in handy for another blog post sometime down the road) and I found a number of gems I’d completely forgotten about.  They were both beautiful images, though I really wish they hadn’t taken so long to find.

About the images:
The Black & White Warbler (Mniotilta varia) is definitely a staged shot.  If you look at towards the bottom of the frame you can see the tell-tale signs of flesh tones reflecting off of the bird.  The Black Vulture (Coragyps atratus) is not one to be safely held by anyone’s hand (unless that hand no longer had a pulse).  I had to look very hard on this one to ensure that it was a Black Vulture and not a juvenile Turkey Vulture.  But I am reasonably certain based on the shape of the head that it is Black vice Turkey.  Regardless, it was a magnificent bird that posed very nicely on a snag next to the side of the road with two or three of his buddies.  Thank goodness again for my 4 wheeled bird blind 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 12:09 pm

    Why don’t you post that picture of the grosbeak-looking bird and see if we can ID it for you. Happy New Year to you and yours, Jim.

    • December 30, 2011 12:29 pm

      And a Happy New Years to you and yours, too, Bob. I may post it or I may send it to you direct. I know they ID’d it when I was there so it is likely a juvenile bird or something that doesn’t show up well in my books.

Leave a Reply

