Skip to content

2012 Photography Shoot Day #1: Warbler Woods Bird Sanctuary

January 2, 2012
Northern Cardinal

© jmillerphoto.com - Northern Cardinal

My new year of shooting officially started on New Year’s Eve? Why New Year’s Eve? Because I closed out my databases a couple of days early thinking I wouldn’t be doing any shooting over the holidays.  But heck, it was all ready 2012 somewhere when I was out shooting so that counts for something, right?  And how could I turn away an opportunity to spend a day outside when it was in the mid 70’s, winds were light, and Warbler Woods Bird Sanctuary was offering an open gate day.

It was good to get back out to Warbler Woods.  My first time out was a good walk, but I knew that I didn’t understand the lay of the land there.  When I got the images home I saw the tell-tale signs of rookie mistakes on where the sun was coming from.  Before going out I looked at those notes and I think I did a better job with things.

Greater Yellowlegs

© jmillerphoto.com - Greater Yellowlegs

I also had the chance to explore a little more of the property this time around and made it down to the Heron Pond.  This is one of two ponds that has water in it year round.  I am hoping to visit this pond regularly as spring starts to roll around because I envision that it has great potential for dragonflies and damselflies.  I observed Variegated Meadowhawks ovipositing on the pond which is good all around for the ecosystem.

With the new year of shooting and new year of blogging I’m doing things a little bit different.  My goal is to get something out within 3 days of the shoot unless I am on the road and am maintaining my somewhat veil of silence until I return.  So in that spirit, the shoot was a good one.  Light was challenging in places, but I struggled through it.  I got at least two life list adds on the day with a Long-billed Thrasher and a Greater Yellowlegs. My blog post tomorrow will talk about life list goals for the year, but my bird life list add goal dropped by two with this visit.

It was a really good visit with much better photography than last time around.  It was great getting the chance to talk with Don & Susan while I was there.  These are some special folks who have a little piece of heaven nestled around suburban San Antonio.  It was also cool meeting a good number of other bird photographers who were on the property, including a number of names I’m familiar with through the TEXBIRDS mailing list.

I’m looking forward to my next visit out to Warbler Woods.  It is a great place to visit and I know there is so much more to see.

About the Images:
A male Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) takes the honor of the first picture on the blog for the new year.  The property was thick with them and it was a NOCA that greeted me with his song upon my arrival.  The Greater Yellowlegs (Tringa melanoleuca) was a neat find.  I am not embarrassed to say I made over 100 images of this particular bird.  The reflections it was displaying were gorgeous and I was lucky that I had gotten into my hiding spot and it didn’t realize I was there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 10:34 am

    Sounds like a great place to visit. Great pictures.

    • January 2, 2012 3:26 pm

      Thanks, Bob. It is a great place to visit. Was there again today. Blog post to follow soon…

Leave a Reply

