Skip to content

Hello 2012!

January 3, 2012

Hello 2012.  Glad to meet you.  I’ve been looking forward to you for a while.

I’m a planner.  I try to have a 1 year vision, a 5 year vision, and a 10 year vision.  I write a lot of stuff down.  I even act on a few of the things I write down.

My 1 year vision has been looking at 2012 for a while now.  I’ve adjusted nicely to my new circumstances and my new realities.  I am very comfortable now in the place where I go to sleep every night and wake up every morning.  I’m comfortable with the surrounding area and how far I can go in a day and get the most out of my day.

I have some big plans for you, 2012.

In 2011 I only had 26 days of what I would term real shooting.  That is far too small of a number.  The goal for 2012 is 48.  That’s just 4 days a month.  Just two complete non-holiday weekends in each month.  I think 48 is an achievable goal.

I want to spend at least 12 shooting days inside bird blinds of some form or fashion.  This year that number was only 5.

I added 35 birds to the life list in 2011.  That was a pretty good number.  I want to match that number again this year.  That will bring the overall life list to 170.  Once I make it through all of my 10D and 30D images, I expect the real number to be up to 175.

I added only 10 to the butterfly life list and 5 to the odonate life list in 2011.  Those numbers were too small.  My goal for 2012 is 20 of each.  One good solid trip to the Lower Rio Grande Valley should knock that out in one fell swoop.

So hello, 2012.  What are you going to bring me for surprises?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 2:33 pm

    Great post, Jim. 🙂

Leave a Reply

