Skip to content

From the Archives – Brautarholtskirkja

January 4, 2012
Brautarholtskirkja

© jmillerphoto.com - Brautarholtskirkja

I’m starting a new feature on the blog starting today.  Each week I am going to pull an image from my film and digital archives that I particularly like and post it.  With over 14 years worth of images at my disposal the variety should be interesting.

First up is this image of Brautarholtskirkja.  This image was made in approximately August 1999 in western Iceland.  This church is just 30km, or some 20 miles from the center of Reykjavík, yet it is obvious that it is a world away.  The black and green coloration is relatively unusual amongst the other 19th century Icelandic country churches.  We stopped at it often as it was on the way north and there was a great little gas station just down the road from here where we could stock up on the snacks we had forgotten to bring with us.

This is a film image from my Canon AE-1.  Lens is believed to be my trusty FD 28mm wide angle lens.  I’m not sure if I blew out the whites when I made the image or later when I tried to reprocess the image for digital.  But it is what it is and it is a great gem from the archives.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 2:22 pm

    Blown out whites or not, it still is a great picture, Jim. 🙂

  2. January 5, 2012 4:20 am

    beautiful photo, so calming.

  3. January 6, 2012 1:26 pm

    Stunning shot

  4. January 7, 2012 6:05 am

    Hi there Jim. I found your site via Professor Batty’s and I wanted to share with you my photo of this Black Church, though I think I like yours better : )

    http://www.icelandeyes.blogspot.com/2008/03/black-church.html

    Btw, love the bird photos…such charming creatures!

    Með kveðjur…

    • January 7, 2012 7:24 am

      Thank you for the kind words, Maria. Your image was very pretty as well. I wish I had an image of that church (and quite a few others north of the tunnel) in the snow, but we always seemed to go east rather than north in the winter for reasons that escape me.

      I am happy to see that you are publishing to your blog again. I’ve said it once or twice on this blog, but I sure miss Iceland.

      Warmest regards…

Leave a Reply

