Skip to content

Weekend Recap

January 9, 2012
Northern Cardinal - Female

© jmillerphoto.com - Northern Cardinal (Female)

It was a good weekend, though it could have been a better one.

Saturday rocked.  I went out to Pedernales Falls State Park to spend some time in the bird blind.  A full post is forthcoming, but a good preview is that I managed to fill up my 16Gb card on my 60D in about two hours of shooting.  I will have that blog entry out by tomorrow.

When I got up Sunday morning the weather looked pretty grim.  A walk with the dog a little later in the morning convinced me that this was a good day to play catch up on some nagging home-based tasks which had been sitting waiting to be done since shortly after we moved into our new home.  Of course, I walked out of the house at 2pm and saw lightly overcast skies that would have been perfect for going out to Mitchell Lake Audubon Center–that had been my planned destination.  Oh well, the projects gotten done were well worth the time that I spent.  I will get out again to Mitchell Lake soon.

On the agenda for the coming week is the aforementioned blog entry about Pedernales Falls State Park, my next installment in my From the Archive series, and maybe a status check on my keywording excavation.

Next weekend is a holiday weekend and at this point the weather looks promising.  I have one travel item on my agenda which I will talk about after I get back.  If all works out well I will have met my month’s goals for shooting by the end of next weekend.

About the Image:
This female Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) was one of the reasons for filling the memory card on Saturday morning.  She and her brothers and sisters with thick as thick could be in the Pedernales Falls SP bird blind.  I will blog more  about it tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 10:26 pm

    Wow such stunning bird photography. Just beautiful, thanks for sharing and will definitely be following in the future!

    • January 9, 2012 11:17 pm

      Thank you. I’ve been blessed to have had some great opportunities to make images.

Leave a Reply

