Skip to content

And a little bit of rest…

January 16, 2012
Slate-colored Junco

© jmillerphoto.com - Slate-colored Junco

If the weather had been good this morning I would have gone out and shot a few more images.  My local bucket list still has quite a few places for me to visit.  But instead we got drizzle and very overcast skies for most of the morning.  So with a mound of images looking at me and some blogwork that needed to get done,  I made the decision to put the camera up for the day and concentrate on taking care of the business end of things.

If I don’t get to sit in front of the computer more than once or twice the rest of the week there will still be a steady stream of blog posts coming.  I have written my blog post for my trip to Mitchell Lake on Saturday and that will publish tomorrow.  Next I have a “From the Archive” post that will roll out Wednesday.  I’m hoping to get Sunday’s visit to South Llano River SP written up and ready to go for Thursday and if I really push I may get my short visit to San Angelo knocked out for Friday before we start all over again.

Thanks again for taking the journey with me.

About the Image:
This Slate-colored Junco (Junco h. hyemalis) was from my trip to Pedernales Falls SP last weekend.  These are unique little birds that aren’t very photo-friendly outside of a blind.  But when they feel safe as they do inside the blind area with the humans safely behind glass, their personalities come out and they put on quite a show.  For the technical detail-inclined, 1/400th a f8 with ISO 200.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 6:21 pm

    I’ll be looking forward to all of your posts, Jim. 🙂

  2. January 16, 2012 10:41 pm

    I don’t know how you find time to bird so much! But I’m glad you do, it helps motivate me to get out there too.

    • January 17, 2012 4:53 pm

      I’ve said in the past that photography, whether it is birds, dragonflies, or butterflies, is both my passion and my stress relief. The whole process of plan, track, shoot, and process helps put things in perspective and helps me then turn around and re-focus when the alarm clock says 5AM on Monday (or in this case Tuesday) morning. So get out and bird and make some images!

Leave a Reply

