Skip to content

Photo Shoot Day #6 – Pedernales Falls SP

January 26, 2012
Spotted Towhee

© jmillerphoto.com - Spotted Towhee

I mentioned it in an earlier post, but I wasn’t going to go out and shoot Saturday.  I had met all of my goals for the month last weekend so there wasn’t a real need to go out.  But gosh darn the weather was nice and with Sunday expected to be overcast and dreary I decided to take a chance and head out.

I did manage to hit the road a little earlier up to Pedernales Falls SP than I have in the past.  I entered the gates at a little after 9AM, stood in a line for a spell while they were processing a stack of passes for boy scouts that were camping that night, and then made my way to the bird blind.

When I made it to the blind I was pleased with the results I was able to obtain.  The blind was occupied by a couple of birders and a member of the park staff.  My arrival had scattered the birds a little bit, but they were back pretty quickly.

Western Scrub-Jay

© jmillerphoto.com - Western Scrub-Jay

The birds that made it to the blind were not exceptionally remarkable.  We did have both a male and female Ladder-backed Woodpeckers in the blind area at the same time which was cool.  Lots and lots of Northern Cardinals again.  I expect within the next month or so the numbers will drop as they start pushing for territory.  Sparrow numbers were sparse.

Highlight birds in terms of the best pictures were Western Scrub-Jays.  There were four in the blind area at the same time and were very willing to pose for the camera.  I have at least two images in the set that are very printable and I hope to do that this weekend.

All in all a very pleasant day in the blind with about five hundred frames snapped in about two hours of shooting.  I was happy I’d made the trip.

About the Images:
This female Spotted Towhee (Pipilo maculatus) was one of many SPTO’s that were making the rounds Saturday morning.  Western Scrub-Jays (Aphelocoma californica) were also both pretty thick and pretty vocal.  I have another image over at Flickr that I also like, but this one caught my eye as I was browsing through the images.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 1:19 pm

    Nice shooting, Jim.

Leave a Reply

