Skip to content

A Long Month This Week

January 28, 2012
Western Scrub-Jay

© jmillerphoto.com - Western Scrub-Jay

Ever have one of those weeks that didn’t seem like it would ever end?  That was this week.  Up early every morning to get to the profession that pays for the roof over my head and the food on my table.  Back late pretty much every night.  Non-photographic tasks to resolve once I got back to the ranch.  Start the process all over again the following morning.  Yep, a long month this week.

As such, this is a catch-up weekend for me.  Probably no photography to be done, though I may venture out tomorrow morning if I can get back on top of the tasks that need to get done. I still haven’t done the full scrub on my images from last weekend at Pedernales Falls SP and I really don’t want to get any further behind than I all ready am.

Part of my catch up will be composing a series of articles for this coming week, to include a “From the Archives” entry, my initial thoughts on the Better Beamer, an article about workflow and the way that I shoot, and maybe a surprise or two.

I hope that your weekend is productive and enjoyable.

About the Image:
Another of my Western-Scrub Jay (Aphelocoma californica) images from last weekend at Pedernales Falls SP.  This was about a 30% of the way into the shoot and I probably wouldn’t have seen it if I wasn’t going back and tagging the images and evaluating as I was going.  More about that process maybe later next week. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 9:38 am

    Nice photo of the Scrub Jay. I always have wondered why we don’t have these around San Angelo. They seem to be all around us. To the north in Abilene, Cedar Gap Farm, etc. West at Davis Mtns state park. South Llano State Park. East at Pedernales SP, etc.

    • January 28, 2012 11:37 am

      Thanks Bob. That is an awful good question. Del Tarter’s field guide says they exist in the Concho Valley and the guide recommends the low water crossing of the Middle Concho on Arden Road and probably out at Walnut Creek Ranch. But I’ve never seen one…

Leave a Reply

