Skip to content

From the Archives – Miklaholtskirkja

February 1, 2012
Miklaholtskirkja

© jmillerphoto.com - Miklaholtskirkja

My first true photographic passion was the pursuit of the Icelandic church.  I’ve described it before elsewhere so I won’t do it again here.  What I will do is describe this church.  It is Miklaholtskirkja.  It is a small church on the Snæfellsness peninsula, probably a couple of hours out of Reykjavík.  The Visitor’s Key to Iceland notes that there have been churches on this site as far back as 1181.  This church is reasonably new, having been put into use shortly after Iceland regained her independence after/during World War II.  It is off the beaten path a little ways, but I was rewarded with a nice image.

It is a film scan, so many of the details that I would normally have I don’t.  I do know that it was shot in July 1999 on my trusty Canon AE-1 with an FD 28mm lens.  Film was Kodak Gold 100, as were most of my shots from that era.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 8:47 pm

    Love this. Nice capture

Leave a Reply

