Skip to content

Ok…Still not caught up…

February 11, 2012
Western Scrub-Jay

© jmillerphoto.com - Western Scrub-Jay

I was reminded why taking time off in the middle of the week never produces good results, as my Thursday and Friday became a make-up session for Tuesday and Wednesday.

But with today’s weather being reasonable and tomorrow’s weather predicted to be uncomfortable for photography, I took today as a day to go out and shoot and will leave tonight and tomorrow to try to recover from the rest of the week’s work.  Getting out today was worth it photographically, though I got started later than I wanted and didn’t get the good light that I was hoping for.

With that aforementioned weather blowing through tomorrow, I expect that tomorrow will be catch up day both for writing and editing.  Three or four blog ideas are bouncing around in my head (which is reasonably easy to do when there aren’t a lot of brains occupying the space between my ears) and hopefully I will get them documented tomorrow.  I have done some photo editing on Tuesday’s shooting and those images are over at Flickr (though I expect you’ll see a couple more over here in one of my posts), but there is more to be done as well as taking another crack at some images from the fall and early winter that I know I can polish into a shiny gem.

I also have a handful of prints in front of me that I need to look at again with a critical eye before adding them over at SmugMug.

I’m not sure if I’m going to have enough hours in the day to knock it all out, but with the help of some coffee…

About the Image:
Western Scrub-Jays (Aphelocoma californica) are starting to become as regular a visitor to these blog pages this year as the Northern Cardinals.  When this bird flew into the blind area I was shooting in, an almost immediate comment of, “Wow… he’s blue!” came from a teen-aged boy who was with his father in the blind.  I think it may have been the first thing he had said in 20 minutes…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 5:52 pm

    Where’d you see this guy?

    • February 12, 2012 6:25 pm

      He was at the Cardinal observation blind at Kreutzberg Canyon Natural Area. That is the blind closest to the river/furthest from the office.

  2. February 14, 2012 7:09 am

    Thanks! Love the photo!

Leave a Reply

