Skip to content

2012 Photo Shoot Day #7 – Kreutzberg Canyon Natural Area

February 12, 2012
Carolina Chickadee

© jmillerphoto.com - Carolina Chickadee

The upside with being located in the general vicinity of the Alamo City is that there seems to be an endless list of places to shoot at.  But when I hear that there is a new blind to shoot out of, I jump at the opportunity.

The wheels got turning on this one when I was doing some educational reading on the San Antonio birding group on Yahoo!  There was a mention of a field trip at Kreutzberg Canyon Natural Area (KCNA) in the coming days and that the meeting place would be at the observation blind.  “Observation blind?” I think to myself.  “I didn’t know there was a blind there.”  For that matter, I really didn’t know much about the place, either.

A little research revealed that KCNA is a park established by Kendall County Partnership for Parks.  It is one of three that are either in operation or are planned, with James Kiehl River Bend Park and Joshua Springs Park & Preserve filling out the trio.  The three parks are in their infancy, with Joshua Springs still yet to open.  Further reading revealed that there are three observation blinds at KCNA and this pushed my desire to head up that direction.

Northern Cardinal

© jmillerphoto.com - Northern Cardinal

So this past Tuesday my bride and I went up to KCNA.  KCNA is  outside of Boerne, Texas.  My nearly 4 year old GPS unit was able to find it on the first try with the provided address:  143 Mark Twain Drive.  It is still a fairly decent length drive from Boerne proper, perhaps a little further than the distance from the city of Junction to South Llano River State Park.

We got up there a little later than I would have liked, but our departure from home was delayed by the unavoidable events of life.  But when we got up there we were very impressed.

Bird traffic was slow, but the birds that were there were cooperative.  Over the course of a little more than an hour we hit all 3 blinds on the property.  The upside was I got to see the lay of the land for all three.  The downside was that this did not allow for the blinds to stabilize as much as I would have preferred.  I will have an extended write-up on all three blinds over at Texas Photo Blinds in the near future as that is the proper side of the darn it sticks for that discussion.

I made some decent images that morning, with the image above of the Carolina Chickadee (Poecile carolinensis) perhaps being the best I’ve ever made.  I also added Life Bird #136 with the spotting of a Hermit Thrush at the Cardinal observation blind.

It was a good day of shooting and I’m glad I found the place.  I have since returned once more and that’ll be the subject of an additional blog posting.

About the Images:
Carolina Chickadees have a similar level of patience and energy as Black-crested Titmice.  As such, the most common picture of either bird is an image of the perch they were on 5 seconds ago.  I got mighty lucky with this one.  The male Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) was enjoying the very realistic water feature present in the Cardinal blind.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 12:01 pm

    Jim, is there blinds at the James Kiehl River Bend Park.

    Also, suggestion, when you write about these blinds how about taking a few snapshots to include.

    Otherwise, I enjoy reading about them.

  2. February 12, 2012 2:56 pm

    No blinds at James Kiehl that I’m aware of. The map of the park doesn’t show any.

    There is a picture of one of the blinds somewhere on the KCNA page. All three more or less look the same and I’ll go into detail about each of the blinds over at the Photo Blind blog. But a good suggestion (that is going to make me carry another lens, darn it 😉 )

  3. February 18, 2012 12:14 am

    I would like to read more on the About the Images section! If its possible..

    • February 18, 2012 7:46 am

      Thank you for the comment. I will try to be more verbose in that section in the future.

Leave a Reply

