Skip to content

From the Archives – Skógafoss

February 15, 2012
Skógafoss

© jmillerphoto.com - Skógafoss

One of the true joys of being in Iceland was getting to see the enormous number of waterfalls that dotted the landscape.  Of all of the waterfalls we saw, this one is my second favorite but the one I made the most images of.

This is Skógafoss, a waterfall near the village of Skógar in southern Iceland.  It is among my favorites because it makes a really good image and once in a while you can get a rocking rainbow off of it (and a moonbow if you are really lucky).  I normally don’t like to include people into my images, but without it the enormity of the falls could not be demonstrated.

This image was made with my Canon 10D with EF 35mm f/2.0 attached.  I shot this at f/8 at 1/500th of a second.  I did other shots at the same location with a slower shutter speed, but it just didn’t have the same feel (and I started to lose the rainbow).  When I go back in a couple of years I imagine I will spend the better part of an afternoon with Skógafoss to make sure I get it right and then probably another day upstream from it to make images of the half-dozen image-worthy waterfalls that are the precursor to its final drop.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 10:00 pm

    Great photo, Jim. I’m glad you left the people in it. 🙂

    • February 17, 2012 6:32 pm

      Thanks, Bob. For this image it worked. I’m hoping to pull out an earlier image where it wasn’t needed. Stay tuned.

  2. February 17, 2012 10:56 am

    WOW! Beautiful shot, very interesting. My last name is Skogen. My ancestors are Vikings from Iceland. Thanks for sharing!

    • February 17, 2012 6:34 pm

      I could write for pages about what being in Iceland meant to me. Incredible country and indelible memories. Thanks for the kind words.

  3. February 18, 2012 12:11 am

    Wonderful falls.. Great capture Jim.!! It never occurred to me that there can be waterfalls in ICEland 😉 Always imagined them to be iced up

    • February 18, 2012 7:45 am

      Thank you. During the deepest part of the winter many of the waterfalls do freeze to some degree. My favorite image of Skógafoss is covered in snow, yet the falls are still running at nearly full-force. I unfortunately made that image with an older digital camera so I don’t know if I’ll be able to share it (or at this moment, even find it)

Leave a Reply

