Skip to content

2012 Photo Shoot Day #8 (Feb 11) – Kreutzberg Canyon Natural Area

February 22, 2012
Chipping Sparrow

© jmillerphoto.com - Chipping Sparrow

I forgot that I had this draft in the queue but didn’t finish it.  Guess I need to focus some more…

I had gotten a small taste of Kreutzberg Canyon Natural Area (KCNA) a few days earlier and I wanted to get another taste.   For the record, I got there 15 minutes earlier than I had the last time I was there.  Unfortunately it was about 2 1/2 hours later than I wanted to.  One of these days I’m going to have to achieve the same level of departure discipline and night-before preparation for my local trips that I manage to do for my non-local trips.

So eventually I made it up to KCNA and found a couple of things that were definitely different from my visit earlier in the week.

First was that there was seed out.  This helped to increase the species spread that were showing up to the blinds.  Second, the clouds were not.  This plus a start close to 10AM made for harsh lighting conditions and I did not get the types of images that I was hoping for.

Overall the shooting was not bad.  There were lots of little birds–Juncos, Sparrows, Titmice, and Chickadees.  There was the odd Northern Cardinal thrown in for good measure now and then.  And towards the end of the shooting I did have a Western Scrub-Jay pop in.

It was a pleasant couple of hours, though earlier would have been better.  A couple of keepers in the set, but it could have been so much better.

About the Image:
This Chipping Sparrow (Spizella passerina) was reasonably cooperative for my camera.  What wasn’t all that cooperative was the shadows that were very apparent.  A couple of clouds would have been welcome, but none were available.  That resulted in 1/1250th @ f/5.6, ISO 200.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 9:59 pm

    Nice post, Jim. Just for the record, the plural of Titmouse, is Titmouses. I had to give you a hard time about that. 🙂

    Never fear, I just found that out recently, myself. 🙂

    • February 22, 2012 10:58 pm

      Re: Titmouse Plural… I have asked the question as to which is right from folks with years of birding experience and impressive avian-related academic titles at the end of their names. And the consistent answer is, “Yes.” As such, I believe that the topic is one in which folks of different perspectives can respectfully agree to disagree. And I’m sticking with Titmice 🙂

Leave a Reply

