Skip to content

Adobe Lightroom 4 Released

March 6, 2012

Sorry…been a bit quiet the last few days.  I had a procedure done on my foot on Friday and I’ve been borderline miserable since.  I try not to write that way because my crabbiness and grumpiness comes through in my words.  Beyond a couple of posts for Texas Photo Blinds, I’ve kept my fingers off the keyboard and I have been concentrating on a couple of other tasks.

That being said, I saw some news pop up regarding Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4.0 that needs to be shared.  It started when I saw B&H Photo, my go-to source for photography equipment over the last 15 years, was advertising the fact that they now have Lightroom 4.0 available for pre-order.

So the next logical place to go was Scott Kelby’s blog to see what news he had.  He has a post the released today with the no-kidding announcement that it is now out in the wild.  Scott has a 12 Noon EST online Q&A session today (March 6th) about Lightroom 4 where he will be giving away a copy of his soon-to-be-released book on Lightroom 4.

Adobe’s Lightroom page also shows it available for sale, with a standard price of $149 (down from $299 with previous versions) and all owners of a full version of Lightroom can get it for $79.  I’d say that both the full and the upgrade prices are no-kidding bargains.

Will I be making the move?  No, not yet.  Anything labeled x.0 I look at with some skepticism and I’d much rather let others be the initial guinea pigs on new software.  But I’ll probably buy it before the month is out and I may start playing with it in a couple of months.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 7:18 pm

    Already? That was fast. Must be the shortest Beta ever. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

