Skip to content

From the Archives – Yellow Boat Landscape

March 7, 2012
Yellow Boat Landscape

© jmillerphoto.com - Yellow Boat Landscape

Boredom sometimes produces outstanding images…

So there I was, minding my own business.  My family and I were staying in a cabin in northern Iceland.  It had been, to that point, a really miserable trip.  We had cloudy skies and windy conditions on the way up to this cabin.  The stairs to the loft had a structural defect and I damn near killed myself falling down the steep staircase.  And this stupid yellow boat had made me look like a fool the night before with my kids in the boat.  I just couldn’t get the hang of it.

But it was Saturday morning.  The skies had started to clear.  The wind was not as wicked.  But nobody was moving very quick, the coffee had done what it was supposed to, and I was bored out of my skull.  And then I saw the reflection.  And then I saw the landscape behind it.  And I had to grab my camera.  It worked out pretty good.  So did the rest of my day.

Canon 10D.  ISO 100, f/8 @ 1/45th second (handheld) with my trusty 24mm lens.  Wish I had the 17-40 at that point, but things worked out for the best as it was.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 8:21 am

    Jim, this has always been one of my favorite images of yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

