Skip to content

Back on the Wagon…

March 24, 2012
Rambur's Forktail

© jmillerphoto.com - Rambur's Forktail (male)

Finally!  The weather (mostly) cooperated in conjunction with available free time.  Amazing!

I spent the vast majority of this morning at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center, taking in the sights of spring coming into bloom.  The goal was for dragonflies, damselflies, and butterflies and I managed two out of three.

There were a few dragons here and there, but nothing substantial and nothing of any great note.  I saw a few Variegated Meadowhawks, a couple Eastern Pondhawks, and a single female Common Whitetail.

Plenty of damselflies around, though there wasn’t a great amount of diversity in terms of species.  This, however, is par for the course for Mitchell Lake so I can’t complain too much.  Of what I have identified so far there were definitely Rambur’s Forktails, Fragile Forktails, and Blue-ringed Dancers.  I have a couple of dandy shots of a couple other species, but I haven’t had any success in identifying them yet.  Soon I hope.

Butterflies were very positive.  I counted about a dozen different species and I made a few nice images.  I will share in the coming days and weeks.

And of course this is the Audubon Center, so there were plenty of birds about, too.  The two highlights of the day were the first of season Scissor-tailed Flycatchers and an adult Cooper’s Hawk that swooped in and stuck around for a while.

All in all an awesome day in the field.  Maybe I’ll get lucky and tomorrow will be as nice.

About the Image:
This Rambur’s Forktail (Ischnura ramburii) posed nicely for me towards the end of my 3 hour, 3 mile walk around the basins.  Tech details are ISO 400, f/18 at 1/200th.  Canon 300mm f/4 IS L, 1.4x Extender, tripod mounted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

