Skip to content

Wrapping Up a Decent Weekend

April 8, 2012
Clouded Sulphur Butterfly

© jmillerphoto.com - Clouded Sulphur Butterfly

To my friends near and far I wish to you a Happy Easter.

My Easter Sunday turned out very well.  After taking care of morning family obligations I went back out to Medina River Natural Area (MRNA).  Truth be told, if I was certain that Mitchell Lake Audubon Center were going to be open today (which I found out later that it was), then I would have gone there rather than going back to MRNA.  I had been out to MRNA Friday afternoon and I had thought that going back might be a waste of time.  Wrong again…

As it turned out it was a 2 dragonfly life list add day and I came away with at least a dozen images that will be used again for different purposes.  For all of the fun I had with the insects, I had far more fun with the reptiles.  Three different species of lizards dominated the 600 images I made with over 100 frames being of one specific specimen of Texas Spotted Whiptail.

Texas Spotted Whiptail

© jmillerphoto - Whiptail Profile

A far more complete rundown of the day’s events are hopefully forthcoming this coming week.  If not then these two images will have to do.  But if I get some time I’ll go into a little more detail on the trip and I might even let the cat out of the bag on news of coming events…

About the Images:
Top image is a Clouded Sulphur Butterfly (Colias philodice) feeding on purple wildflowers.  This of course is not my first encounter with the Clouded Sulphur nor with one feeding on purple wildflowers–my photo shoot report from Spring Valley Wildlife Area in Ohio led with an image of a Clouded Sulphur on a purple flower.  But this one had very intense colors and made for a nice shot as I walked down the Nogales trail. Technical details are ISO 400, f/11 @ 1/1000th on the tripod.

This particular Texas Spotted Whiptail (Aspidoscelis gularis) was patient enough to allow me over 100 frames before it headed off in the brush. It allowed me to get very close as I lowered my tripod as low as it would go to get the best angle on his profile.   To give you an idea of how close, the long edge on the full size image is 3700+ pixels long.  For this particular image the technical details are ISO 400, f/7.1 @ 1/1250th on the tripod.  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

