Skip to content

Must Every Week Start With a Monday?

April 9, 2012
Plains Clubtail Dragonfly

© jmillerphoto.com - Plains Clubtail Dragonfly

I had some hopes I’d be able to talk about my two trips to Medina River Natural Area (MRNA) today.  And then Monday happened.  Hard.  So instead I will have to submit yet another I.O.U. and let you look at one of my dragonfly life list adds from Sunday.

Those of you who do a good job of observing things will undoubtedly note that I’ve been busier than normal lately.  Maybe that’s some foreshadowing to the news that I plan to uncork soon.  Or maybe it is just that life is what happens when we’re busy making other plans (with a nod to the late/great John Lennon)…

About the image:
One of my two life list adds from Sunday was this Plains Clubtail (Gomphus externus) that I saw just about a half hour into my two hour walk through MRNA.  Technical details are ISO 400, f/18 @ 1/200th.  If I had it to do all over again I would have closed down my f-stop maybe one more click (1/3-1/2 of an f-stop) to ensure I got more of him in focus.  But all in all he turned out okay for a first brush with the species.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

