Skip to content

From the Archives – New Garðarskagiviti

April 11, 2012
Garðarskagiviti

© jmillerphoto.com - Garðarskagiviti

From the Archives is back this week after a short break.  As I was thumbing through images I realized that I hadn’t posted a lighthouse in this series.  And with the unfortunate and untimely passing of Thomas Kinkade this past week I thought it was appropriate to bring out one of my favorites.

This is the new lighthouse at Garðarskagiviti, just outside of the village of Garður on the southwest coast of Iceland.  I shot this lighthouse many times and at many times of day, but this image may be my favorite.  It was made at 20 minutes to midnight less than a week from the Summer Solstice.  Tech details are ISO 100, f/2.8 at 1/250th.  Camera and lens combination was the Canon 10D with my 50mm f/2.5 macro lens attached.  It was almost certainly shot hand-held as I had not yet relied on tripods for more steady shots (and my wrist still worked almost perfectly).

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 11:03 pm

    Love it. More lighthouses please!

Leave a Reply

