Skip to content

Bring on the Dragons…

April 22, 2012
Eastern Amberwing

© jmillerphoto.com - Eastern Amberwing

I didn’t get to do quite as much shooting as I wanted to this weekend.  Okay, if truth be told I never get to shoot as much as I want to.  I had made plans for Saturday and Sunday but only managed to get out Sunday.  Professional obligations clouded my Saturday, but that’s okay–it worked out for the best.

I found myself at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center this morning.  Really I was there about 2 hours later than I wanted to be, but all worked out well as I struggled with a warm morning and a battery that was on the edge of being depleted.  About 430 images made it onto the memory card.  I’ve only done a cursory glance through them, but there are about a dozen that I’m really happy about.  I may go into more detail later, but professional obligations seem to always get in the way between getting something posted and maintaining some degree of timeliness…  Dragons and damsels are starting to make their triumphant return and it was about an 8 dragon species day.

It unfortunately looks like a wicked week in front of me.  Membership has its privileges.  I’m hoping to at least get a From the Archives post in before the weekend rolls around again.

About the Image:
This Eastern Amberwing (Perithemis tenera) dragonfly was part of the 8 dragonfly day that I had at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center near San Antonio, Texas.  This is a fairly common dragonfly, but not one that is often seen at Mitchell Lake.  It originally was going to be displayed as a horizontal image with it looking into empty space, but then I changed my mind and put it into a portrait format for this crop.  When I turn it into wallpaper it will return to that format.  Tech details are ISO 200, 1/125th @ f/14.  As always, Canon 60D, 300mm f/4 L IS USM lens + 1.4x Canon Extender.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 8:38 am

    Lovely “dragon” portrait – and I do understand about those pesky obligations…

Leave a Reply

