Skip to content

Mid-week in the Water

May 23, 2012
Blue-ringed Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Blue Ringed Dancer

As usual it has been a busy week.  I am still sifting through the images from last week as I get a few spare minutes here and there.

Here is an image from last Saturday at Cook’s Slough Nature Park.  This is a Blue-ringed Dancer (Argia sedula) damselfly.  The technical details are not all that fascinating.  ISO 400, 1/160th @ f/20.  This was one of a long series of images I made of this particular insect and I couldn’t have made this one without the help of my shooting partner.  His job–make sure nothing that slithered or crawled was sneaking up on me while I got my tripod down as low as it could go and I got nearly into a prone position to get as close to eye-level as I could with this guy.  Getting the right angle sometimes puts me in positions that are tougher to get out of.  The end result was nice.

Long weekend coming up for me, but it is also a long weekend for everyone else so some of the places I’d like to shoot (state parks, in particular) will likely be crawling with folks.  Maybe a natural area.  Maybe someplace else.  Or maybe just plowing through the images I all ready have.  We’ll see how it goes…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 10:28 pm

    The color is brilliant! Sigh-i have a lot to learn!

    • May 24, 2012 6:12 am

      Thanks. Every time I go out I learn a little bit. Either what to do or (more often) what not to do. I could not have made this image last year.

Leave a Reply

