Skip to content

Things That Irritate Me: ESPNRadio iPhone App

May 24, 2012

This again is where “Usually Photographic” in the title of this blog comes into play…

I admit it.  I use an iPhone.  Before that I used an iPod Touch and the iOS operating system on the iPod Touch was enough to convince me to get the iPhone 4 when the 4s came on the market.

I fired up my phone today and saw that the icon for ESPN Radio had changed.  For those who are not familiar, there is an application for iOS that allows you to listen to ESPN Radio.  Most big cities have ESPN Radio affiliates (as an example, San Antonio, Austin, and Dallas all have stations that carry the programming) and ESPN Radio also streams their programming for free on the web.

When I bought the application a couple of years ago, it cost like $3.  To have the convenience of being able to listen to the ESPN Radio on (at the time, my iPod Touch) as I walked around the house was nice.  Most of their affiliates have local programming so it is nice to be able to hear the network shows when the local guys try to placate their fans.

So today I hit the icon and it asks me for some additional info.  Okay, I give them my ESPN user name and password and move forward.

And then the wallop.  The old software has been removed.  The new software will only work like the old software did for 14 days.  After that I’ll have to pay $5 to get it back.

Really ESPN Radio?  Almost twice the price of the old application to keep the old functionality?  To hear 36 minutes of programming each hour and listen to tons of advertisements for 1-800-Flowers and male potency enhancement products.  Unbelievable.

I don’t listen to the app very often.  Most of the time I listen to the local ESPN affiliate in the car.  I only listen to the app when my bride is watching TV or trying to sleep and I don’t want to disturb her with the radio being on.  And honestly, there are other listening choices out there that are free.  Their application is not worth another $5–especially considering this track record and wondering when they’re going to charge us again.  This is especially galling when they make their streams available for free if you are on their website.

I feel robbed.  I feel violated.  And I feel like I will be listening to more Fox Sports Radio on I Heart Radio (for free).

Now back to your normally scheduled photography blog…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2012 5:13 pm

    My philosophy – if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. I HATE it when apps or programs change functionality – it’s even worse when they charge you more and give you less.

    • May 25, 2012 8:16 pm

      It is. There are many in the reviews section that are saying that this is nothing more than a money grab on the part of ESPN (which in turn is a money grab on the part of the Walt Disney Co.– guess that they had to do something after nobody went to see John Carter).

Leave a Reply

