Skip to content

Collateral Damage

May 28, 2012
Eastern Pondhawk

© jmillerphoto.com – Eastern Pondhawk

The blog front has been a little bit slow of late.  There is always collateral damage from taking a week off from work.  That often entails spending the first couple of days just trying to catch up with e-mail and other correspondence.  That was the case this week.  By the time Friday rolled around I was thoroughly exhausted.  And they wonder why I have vacation days that I haven’t used…

So here it is Monday.  I took the weekend off from capturing images with the camera.  Most of the places I like to make images have far too many people around to make the images I want to make.

But I had my own collateral damage to clean up.  First was the standard household stuff that constantly needs to be addressed.  But I also had 1900 images from 6 days of shooting last week that desperately needed to be looked at.  I also came to the realization that some of my workflow methods were clogging up the works so I spent some time addressing that, too.  And holy smokes, you should have seen the way my home office looked.

So I spent the weekend at home.  My dive through the 1’s and 0’s resulted in identification of 80-something images that I have deemed worth for additional attention, of which I’m guessing 25-30 will eventually become prints but most of the others will go into the portfolio for use at another time.  I also threw down some possible topics for future blog posts and hopefully I’ll have a few moments of free time here and there and I’ll be able to craft those topics into full-fledged posts.  And amazingly enough, I can actually see the surface of my desk again.  Amazing!

I know before I even step into the office tomorrow that this week is going to be crazy busy.  A four-day week always adds to the difficulty level.  But guaranteed I will be making my list of possible destinations as the week moves to its conclusion.

About the Image:
This image of an Eastern Pondhawk (Erythemis simplicicollis) was made at South Llano Rive SP near Junction, Texas, during my week of shooting.  In older books you will also see this dragonfly called a Common Pondhawk.  Those doing naming conventions want to get away from the word “Common” because it is, well, so common.  And since there is a Western Pondhawk, it would make sense to have an Eastern Pondhawk as well.  Some of my earlier images probably reflect Common vice Eastern.

The tech details on this image is ISO 400, 1/200th @ f/14.  As with all of my dragonfly images, this was with my Canon 60D, Canon EF 300mm USM IS L f/4 lens with a matched Canon Extender II 1.4x teleconverter.  The camera was mounted to my Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Tripod.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

