Skip to content

Published again…

June 8, 2012
Green Heron

© jmillerphoto – Green Heron

It happened again and I didn’t even know it was going to happen until after it happened.

A couple of years ago I provided an image of a Halloween Pennant to Five Rivers MetroParks in the greater Dayton area for use on their website.  In the process of working through getting them the right size, I offered to them anything in my library that I had shot in the MetroParks to use as they wished.  Their parks.  Their creatures.  I just managed to walk in and document it.

So Sunday I get word that they took me up on the offer.  A Green Heron that I had made an image of on my way out of town last August is gracing page 9 of the summer edition of ParkWays magazine.

It is always an honor to get published, but even more so in this case.  First, the story that the photo accompanies is a well-written piece on the differences between the various small bodies of water that are in their parks.  I have to admit I learned a thing or two from the article and that will help my photography in the very near future.  And second, it helped tell their overall message and I think I have said it here before, but I think that Five Rivers MetroParks are easily the best city/metro area parks of any city in the country.

About the Image:
As mentioned above, I made this image of the Green Heron (Butorides virescens) on the way to the airport last August.  It was shot within Huffman MetroPark and I blogged about that trip here.  On the image itself the tech specs were ISO 200, 1/250th at f/11.  Standard camera gear (60D, 300mm, 1.4x) off of the monopod.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 8, 2012 9:27 pm

    Awesome. Congrats Jim.

Leave a Reply

