Skip to content

Hot…

June 10, 2012
Black-bellied Whistling Duck and Ducklings

© jmillerphoto.com – Black-bellied Whistling Duck and Ducklings

If I had any doubt as to whether or not summer was here, I am certain of it now.

I went out to Cook’s Slough Nature Park in Uvalde, Texas today to spend some time with the dragonflies and other winged creatures in the park.  I thought long and hard about going out yesterday.  And I thought so long that I went past when the prime time would have been to be out and making images.  And besides, I had a ton of projects I needed to get done at the house and managed to knock out one or two.

So my shooting companion and I got out a little later than we wanted to this morning and I didn’t get on premise until about quarter to 10.  Just as I’m getting myself put together, a little dog comes running towards where we’re at.  And I say aloud, “Good morning Cinderella… Bob must be right behind you.”  And he was.  Bob Rasa, a local bird guide and a good photographer in his own right, is trailing right behind Cindy.  We exchange pleasantries, talk about what has been out and about, and he tells me that I’ve gotten a late start–it is going to get hot.

He was right.  It was hot.  Hotter than Satan’s toe nails hot.  And with full gear on to protect myself from the sun and things that slither on the ground, I was one very sweat-soaked person by the time it was all said and done.  Sweat clear through my t-shirt, my meshy camouflage shirt, and through my thick photo vest material.  Yep.  It was hot.

But it was a good couple of hours.  The highlight of the day was getting my first shots of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks (Dendrocygna autumnalis) who were on one of the ponds near the entrance.  It was a life list add, which was cool to begin with.  But on top of that…ducklings!  I made over 125 images of just the ducks and ducklings.  We found the ducklings about 15 minutes into the excursion.  I spent the next 2 hours walking around the place, making more images, and eventually coming full circle back to the ducks and ducklings.

More images to process from the trip and I guess that will be this week’s task.  I still have a ton of blog entries I want to do, but the clock keeps getting in the way.

About the Image:
Technical details are ISO 400, f/16 at 1/640th from the standard gear profile.  And as always it was off of the tripod.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2012 9:09 pm

    Good read very nice wild life photo!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. June 10, 2012 9:13 pm

    Great shot, Jim. 107 degrees here in SA this afternoon.

    • June 10, 2012 9:16 pm

      Thanks, Bob. That’s mighty hot for San Angelo, and it’s only the 2nd weekend in June. It wasn’t quite that hot that early, but the humidity was really intense, too, and we quickly ditched our thoughts of making a detour through Lost Maples SNA on the way home. Stay cool.

  3. June 11, 2012 6:19 am

    BBWD are cool birds – and this is a great portrait. I really like the little “convict” ducklings.

  4. July 30, 2012 12:33 pm

    Wow.. lovely birds.

Leave a Reply

