Skip to content

Not a fast learner…

June 24, 2012
Black-necked Stilt

© jmillerphoto.com – Black-necked Stilt

It is scorching hot in South Texas.  Summer has turned the knob to 11 and it has gone from uncomfortable to outright stifling.

I was out in that heat this morning.  In theory it was before it got really hot.  But I’m hear to tell you that it was still a very uncomfortable morning.  Runkeeper says that I hit 2.56 miles on the odometer and my clothes stated very forcefully that I hit saturated on the sweat meter.

I was at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center (MLAC) and this is where the title of today’s blog entry comes into play.  I am not a fast learner.  I have learned that, for whatever reason, I should never go back to the same place in consecutive photo shooting opportunities.  And as I was driving down the road this morning, I thought to myself, “You know… you could go to Medina River Natural Area.  It’s this turn off.  You haven’t been there in a while…”  And as I’m thinking this I just keep going down the road.  The upside with Medina River Natural Area is there is a lot of shade that I could have taken advantage of.  But I didn’t.

Not that it was a bad trip to MLAC.  It wasn’t.  It just wasn’t overly productive.  Where last weekend I made over 500 images, today it was under 200.  But I did get some nice shots, to include the image leading the blog entry today.  But I was so tired after the heat that I was basically a slug for the rest of the day, drinking fluids and enjoying the air conditioning.

About the Image:
This Black-necked Stilt (Himantopus mexicanus) was in one of the quickly disappearing ponds at MLAC.  Technical details are the standard gear (tripod mounted), ISO 400, 1/3200 @ f/5.6.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2012 10:11 pm

    Very nice wild life photography!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. June 25, 2012 7:25 am

    It’s a great image – perhaps the “road not taken” would have resulted in something bad, so even tho it wasn’t a productive day, it wasn’t a day dealing with a blown tire or something unpleasant. That’s how I try to justify decisions like that!

    • June 25, 2012 9:38 am

      Thanks, Cindy. You are right, and all things considered being at MLAC has a level of comfort associated because I know that if I really got into trouble on the trails that a docent is there that could either help or dispatch help. But for whatever reason when I get into a rut of more than one trip in a row to a place that the 2nd trip is always a let down. It has been said that the only difference between a rut and a grave is depth 😉

Leave a Reply

