Skip to content

Parched…

July 8, 2012
Widow Skimmer

© jmillerphoto.com – Widow Skimmer (Libellula luctuosa)

Yesterday was a great morning of shooting at Hornsby Bend in Austin.  I met up with an outstanding dragonfly photographer and we spent the better part of three hours walking a few trails and making some nice images.  I added, as best as I can tell, about 5 dragons to my life list.  I also lost about three pounds in perspiration.  Gosh darn it was hot.  The server at the restaurant we stopped at on our trip back to San Antonio might as well have just set up an I.V. drip for my iced tea as he had to make about four trips back to the table in the first 10 minutes we were there…

No photography for me this morning.  I have an enormous number of tasks to knock out around the house and I still need to make a solid run through yesterday’s pictures to find the keepers.  I still have not done that drag through the last three photo shoots I made prior to yesterday so I am probably over 1000 images behind.  It should be fairly quick to bounce through them–I just have to find the time.  I also need to do a mid-year recap to see where I am with the goals I set for myself back in January.  If I can get the job to slow down a little this week maybe I can make that happen.

About the Image:
This Widow Skimmer (Libellula luctuosa) was one of many making the rounds yesterday at Hornsby Bend.  Yes, it wasn’t a life list dragon but it is still one of my favorite dragonflies.  The technical details were ISO 400, 1/160 at f/16.  On the tripod as usual with the standard gear.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 5:33 pm

    Great portrait of a gorgeous dragonfly! What is your “standard gear?”

    • July 9, 2012 6:35 pm

      Thanks Cindy. I should post that every once in a while because I have readers that visit just now and then. The Standard Gear is:
      Canon 60D
      Canon EF 300mm f/4 IS USM
      Canon EF Extender II 1.4x
      Sandisk Extreme SDHC 16 Gb
      Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Tripod
      Manfrotto 322RC2 Tripod Head

      All pieced together over time… The camera is the newest piece at around a year. The lens is the oldest at about 7.

Leave a Reply

