Skip to content

Mid-year Goal Reflections

July 10, 2012
Black-belled Whistling Ducklings

© jmillerphoto.com – Black-belled Whistling Ducklings

June 30th marked the more or less middle of 2012.  Back at the beginning of the year I set some goals for myself.  When I do goals, it is an attempt to push me in directions that I want to go and I like making quantitative (number-based) goals rather than qualitative (warm fuzzy) goals.  Hard numbers are easy to compare.  Warm fuzzy can be, well, fuzzy.  Of course hard numbers are statistics and there are lies, damned lies, and statistics…

That aside, I did a quick look at the numbers and I’ve seen both good and bad.

The Good:
I wanted 48 days of shooting for the year.  If I continue to include my New Year’s Eve trip to Warbler Woods in those numbers I had my 30th day of shooting on June 24th.  Guess I’ll make that one…

I wanted 12 days of shooting out of bird blinds.  I’ve had 10.  I haven’t made it to a paid blind for the year and I probably won’t at this point.  A hope to do it in April kinda blew up and this time a year is not always productive for paid blinds.

I wanted to add 20 dragonflies to my life lists.  I’m definitely up to 12 as of June 30th.  I probably have one or two additional adds that I need to confirm and I got 5 or so on my trip to Hornsby Bend.  That one will make it as well.

The Bad:

I wanted to add 35 birds to my bird life list.  I’m at 14.  That is close to half-way, but not where I want it to be.  But I still have not headed down to the Lower Rio Grande Valley and I think that would boost me back up there.

I wanted to add 20 butterflies to my butterfly life list.  I’m at 3.  Again, a good trip to the LRGV would solve that.  Perhaps in October as things start to cool down a little bit.

But photography is not about numbers, really.  There has to be some warm fuzzy in things.  And there is.  I like the images I am making.  They are sharper than they have been in year’s past.  They are better composed and I’m getting more subject in the frame.  I’m really happy with my photography and hopefully you are enjoying the shots, too.

About the Image:
This is among my favorite shots of the year.  You’ve seen this pair of Black-bellied Whistling Ducklings (Dendrocygna autumnalis) with their parent earlier in the year, but this isolated shot of them makes for a mighty fine image.  Unfortunately the crop is fairly extreme on this one so it won’t make a great print, but it is still a fun image.  The particulars:  ISO 400, 1/500 @ f/11.  Standard gear mounted on the tripod.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2012 6:36 pm

    oh wow … are they real? too cute I even think their mum is pretty

  2. July 11, 2012 7:47 am

    I can relate, Jim. So many things that I wanted to do, too, but when my ship came in, I was at the airport. I love the image of the young Whistling Ducks. 🙂

    • July 13, 2012 9:56 pm

      Thanks for the nice words about the image, Bob. Indeed, there’s so much to do that sometimes I spend too much time contemplating what to do rather than just doing it. Such is life…

Leave a Reply

