Skip to content

Just a flesh wound…

July 21, 2012
Blue-ringed Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Blue-ringed Dancer

It has been a crazy few days.  As I sit here Saturday evening I am completely spent.  Yesterday was a high physical activity day in some pretty nasty heat, and today I followed it up with a lengthy hike at Palmetto State Park near Gonzales, Texas.

The trip to Palmetto SP was very good.  Quick, unremarkable drive, nice staff at the headquarters office, easy enough to find where I wanted to go, and very good hiking trails.  The only real negative on the day was a park volunteer who was, well, pushy in insisting that I move my vehicle (the only one parked in the area at the time) about half a foot to the left in the unlined parking spots in hopes of maybe squeezing in another car three hours later.  I’d like to say that he was trying to be helpful, but really what I think he was doing was trying to feel like he was in control.  So be it.  Some folks aren’t happy unless they feel like they can tell somebody what to do and I guess I made him happy.

The image making was decent.  I did two loops around the Oxbow Lake trail.  First loop was early–maybe 9:45AM.  Second time through was closer to 12 noon.  It was a lot hotter the 2nd time, but the dragons and damsels were much more plentiful the 2nd time around.

We also walked down to the Ottine Swamp trail in between the two loops around the lake, but found part of it under construction and generally quiet.  So instead we went to the interpretive trail (which was equally unproductive for the photography I wanted to do) and then we walked back to get a 2nd swing on the lake trail.

All in all it was a good visit to the park.  The images opportunities didn’t seem to be as plentiful as they were last weekend at Lost Maples SNA, but it was a good day to be out and about.  I’ll be digging through these images this week.

This week also marks a full year with the Canon 60D, and if I can find some time I’ll talk about my first year with this awesome camera.

About the Image:
This Blue-ringed Dancer (Argia sedula) was captured in 1’s and 0’s at the end of my first loop around the Oxbox Lake trail.  Standard gear was used on the tripod, no flash.  ISO 400, 1/400 at f/8.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2012 9:25 pm

    Have I mentioned to you about Bitter Lake NWR at Roswell, NM. Dragon flies are a BIG thing there. Big festival there, although I don’t remember the date. You might goggle the place and find out more. Great images, BTW.

    • July 22, 2012 6:16 am

      Hi Bob. I’ve heard of that festival. November timeframe is when it is held I think, but I’ll take a gander on Google to see when it is. My guess is the best way to do a festival like that photographically is be there the week before and the week of to both get some shots before the crowds arrive and then get some additional local knowledge during the festival.

      • July 22, 2012 10:36 pm

        And I stand corrected. September vice November. Three day festival, so I guess the plan to shoot the area well would be get there early, stay for the festival, leave late 🙂 Thanks for reminding me of this.

  2. July 22, 2012 1:13 am

    amazing capture and sharp. What Lens are you using to capture this photo?

    • July 22, 2012 6:17 am

      Hi Raed. I shot with my standard gear on that shot which consists of my Canon 60D, EF 300mm f/4 IS USM L lens, and EF Extender II 1.4x to get me out to 420mm f/5.6

  3. July 22, 2012 5:28 am

    Jim, I saw the robberfly-gets-emperor-butterfly pic on the Standard Gear page and loved it. I guess I need to get a flickr account so I can post my comments there. I use Smugmug for my gallery but I guess Flickr is where everybody goes, eh?

    • July 22, 2012 6:19 am

      Thanks Cindy. There are a lot of us out at Flickr. I have a SmugMug account for sales, though I think I’m going to let it go at the end of this year’s subscription–just not enough time to keep throwing things out there. Flickr is quick, easy, and even at the Pro level, reasonably cheap ($25 a year I think)

Leave a Reply

