Skip to content

A Year with the Canon 60D

July 24, 2012
Four-spotted Pennant

© jmillerphoto.com – Four-spotted Pennant (female)

On July 24th last year I took my Canon 60D out for our first shoot together.  Mitchell Lake Audubon Center was the destination.  Lightroom reports back that I only made 107 images that day–a third of what was a normal shoot when I was shooting with the Canon 30D.  I think I can be forgiven to a point for shooting so few on my shakedown cruise as I had two photo assistants who really didn’t want to be there, including one who wasn’t a big fan of bees, wasps, and hornets and that day at Mitchell Lake seemed to be a very productive day for those kinds of flying creatures.  It was also pretty damn hot and neither one had spent much more time outside than what it took to get from the house to the car or from the car to the next air conditioned building.

In that series of images, number 104 on the day to be exact, was this beauty of a shot that leads the blog entry.  In retrospect I could have opened up the aperture a little bit to get more of the wings in focus.  I shot f/13 at 1/250th of a second.  A full stop more open at 1/125th should have plenty stable enough and plenty sharp enough.  I would learn that as I made it through my year with the camera.  Shooting off the tripod would have been even better, but I didn’t… I shot off the monopod.

But it was an awesome first serious shoot with the camera.  It felt great in the hand.  Battery performance was phenomenal.  Focusing was solid.  What a great day of shooting.  A year, 56 shooting days, and over 16,000 images later, I cannot say enough great things about this camera.

My favorite shot over this year.  I’m not sure.  Yet.  But I’m sure it will make a good blog entry in another day or two when I figure it out 🙂

About the Image:
This was shot of the Four-spotted Pennant (Brachymesia gravida) was made with what I now refer to as the Standard Gear.  This was off monopod instead of tripod, when the monopod was a little more sturdy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 9:36 pm

    Great shot, Jim. Glad you’re liking the 60D.

    • July 24, 2012 9:49 pm

      Thanks, Bob. It has been a wonderful year with the camera. The only way it could have been better is if I had more days to shoot, but there will be time for that soon enough. Best to you & Ann.

  2. July 24, 2012 11:33 pm

    Amazing shot~!! Nice picture!

Leave a Reply

