Skip to content

My First Year with the Canon 60D: Favorite Image

July 26, 2012
Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

© jmillerphoto.com – Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Picking a favorite image in a year full of great images is tough.  So many interesting shots.  And honestly, so many shots where I look back at them and go “Meh… good learning experience.”

Picking the best of my images is an exercise for me every couple of months when it comes to provide images to the Concho Valley Photography Club.  I am no longer an active member–200+ miles each way is far too big of a distance to travel to on a monthly basis.  But as a member emeritus (which for the record means without merit, I think 🙂 ), they still allow me to send them some images.  Typically I send images every couple of months or so (often more “or so” than “couple”) and it is tough to pick 10-12 of my favorites.  Painful might describe it better.  And I know some of the really good ones end up in the recycle bin even though they are great shots.

So I thought about it.  Thought really hard about it I did.  And I came to a stunning conclusion:  Nope, I cannot pick a single favorite image. Impossible.

I love the juvenile Scissor-tailed Flycatcher (Tyrannus forficatus) pictured above.  Sharp features, patient bird, lots of images, great detail on the limbs.  But I could just have easily pulled from any of the life list shots that I made over the last 12 months.  Such as any of the 20 or so dragonflies that I have added to the portfolio over the last 12 months (such as the Four-spotted Pennant from the last blog entry).  I’m particularly fond of the Variegated Meadowhawk images that I have made because the colors are so incredibly cool.  The variety of new birds was awesome, too.  My Green Heron that was published back in Ohio could also be in that list as well–I love it when I get my stuff published.

But no… I can’t pick a favorite.  I don’t know that I could pick a favorite from a month.  I might be able to pick a favorite from a particular photo shoot, but even that is going to be tough.

So, as yet another new feature for the blog, I will be grabbing some of my best from the last year.  Things that I probably didn’t display the first time around and I have discovered with my revised workflow.  I’ll even have to go back and see if I’ve discussed my current workflow methods…

About the Image:
This juvenile Scissor-tailed Flycatcher was captured at ISO 200, 1/400 at f/13.  He was hanging out at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center in San Antonio, Texas–probably my most visited location in the last year. Standard gear was used off the monopod.  As long as this bird sat, I could have easily used the tripod if I had it with me.  Heck, for as long as it stayed, I might have been able to build a tripod…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 8:54 pm

    Superb bird photography!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. July 30, 2012 12:32 pm

    Incredible.. I even tried something like this. Photo looks very pleasant!

Leave a Reply

