Skip to content

An Ode A Day Keeps the Surgeon At Bay… Or maybe not…

October 9, 2012
Variegated Meadowhawk

© jmillerphoto.com – Variegated Meadowhawk

I admit it.  I’m seeing another service 🙂

Actually, I’m micro blogging.  Sort of.

I am involved in a Google + photography venture called Ode A Day (#OdeADay).  The concept is easy.  Post a single picture of a dragonfly or damselfly every day.

And frankly, this short-form blogging is a refreshing change from the things I do here.  The blurbs are quick and to the point.  The format is easy.  And it takes 5-10 minutes to make it happen if the image is ready.  I still like the regular blogging that I do here, but to get an image out, tell a little story, and leave is kind of cool.

So come join in the fun.  Follow the likes of +Kimberly Hosey who curates the project (she’s nearly half-way through her year).  Or the others who do not necessarily make it every day, but are getting close to the concept.

About the Image:
A slightly differe crop of this image of a Variegated Meadowhawk (Sympetrum corruptum) is image #22 in my series of 365.  It was shot recently at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center.  Standard Gear, fill-flash on, 1/160th at f/18 on the tripod.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2012 3:39 pm

    I’d love to join but don’t have nearly enough pictures.. But I’ve bookmarked #OdeADay and will follow it! Thanks for sharing, I can never see enough dragonfly/damselfly pictures 🙂

    • October 9, 2012 6:21 pm

      It is a daunting concept. Birders would likely have an easier time of it. Thankfully I have close to 3 years worth of Dragons and Damsels to choose from so I should be in relatively good shape. Happy you’re coming along for the ride both with me but also the likes of Kimberly Hosey and Michael Hensley

Leave a Reply

