Skip to content

Nothing To Eat or Drink After Midnight

November 4, 2012
Rose-bellied Lizard

© jmillerphoto.com – Rose-bellied Lizard

Sunday morning again.  I had planned to be out the door right now and off to Mitchell Lake Audubon Center for one last photo shoot.  But somewhere between a half and three-quarters of an inch of rain fell last night (with accompanying thunder and lightning that ruined the extra hour of sleep I’d hoped to get from falling back, may I add).  My experience is there is little to be gained photographically by heading out there after a night of rain so I think I have officially ended my hiking-based photography year.  Tomorrow morning the surgeons get to spend some quality time with my wrist and then we can let the healing begin.

But the last 7 days have been somewhat photographically productive.  Last Sunday I went out to Medina River Natural Area and had a very good photo shoot.  I didn’t add any species to the life lists, but I made some of the best images I have made to date of Rose-bellied Lizards (which leads off the post), Red Saddlebags dragonflies, and Common Mestra butterflies.  The Saddlebags and Mestra images are over at Flickr.

Turkey Vulture

© jmillerphoto.com – Turkey Vulture

Yesterday I went out to Cook’s Slough Nature Park in Uvalde, Texas.  It was a great 3 mile walk around the park.  Weather could have been better early.  I dealt with some pretty solid overcast on what was supposed to be a sunny day.  But eventually the clouds broke, the sun came out, and some great shots were made.

While not the best shot of the day, I did enjoy making images of two Turkey Vultures that were in the last stages of shedding their juvenile status and having their faces turn red.  I’m hoping that the vultures being close and attentive to me is not a preview of coming attractions for my upcoming medical procedures 🙂   There were some additional good shots that will find their way into Flickr in the come days and weeks.

So today it is a day of cleaning up some last tasks while I still have two working paws, a little bit of football, and maybe even working some images.  Good work if you can find it, I think.

About the Images:
As usual, both images were shot with the standard gear on the tripod.  The Rose-bellied Lizard (Sceloporus variabilis) that leads this post was captured in 1’s and 0’s in the parking lot of Medina River Natural Area.  He had been sitting on this rock and as I had started to get up, he moved to a 2nd position which I made a couple of images of, and then finally into this 3rd position which turned out to be the winners of the grouping.  ISO 400, 1/2000th at f/7.1, no flash.  The Turkey Vulture (Cathartes aura) was a reasonably difficult shot.  There was not a lot of light, he was perched in the remains of a tree, and I had to do some finagling with the tripod to get an angle I could shoot at.  Once I get my new ballhead for the tripod, images like this will be easier to make.  But with the current support equipment it was a beast.  ISO 400, 1/160th at f/9, no flash.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2012 11:51 am

    Great images here, Jim.

  2. November 4, 2012 6:09 pm

    Great images! Love the lizard!

Leave a Reply

