Skip to content

Quick Status Message

November 6, 2012
Common Green Darner

© jmillerphoto.com – Common Green Darner

A quick follow-up from Sunday’s post…

Surgery went fine.  The hand is in a hard cast for the next couple of weeks so I’m typing one-handed (which should keep these posts short and to the point).  Tomorrow I’m going to try to start flagging keepers/future images for editing in an effort to feel productive yet not do anything that will undo the progress surgery was supposed to bring.  Depending on how many shoots I make it through and/or how coherent I am, I may also do some editing as it is something I can do left-handed.  For that matter, I think I edit left-handed better than I type 🙂

About the Image:
I edited this the other day for a different purpose, but since it was available…  I saw this Common Green Darner (Anax junius) Sunday at Cook’s Slough Nature Park in Uvalde.  These dragonflies are notorious for not perching where they can be seen.  But I saw this one perch, I spooked it and it perched again just a short distance away.  It wasn’t until I got close after the 2nd perch that I saw the damage to his leading wing.  After making a few shots he flew again and perched fairly close, though at a poor angle.  I saw through the viewfinder that he had caught a meal with that short flight.  Busted, but still getting the job done.  I respect/resemble that state of being 🙂  Standard gear on the tripod, no flash, ISO 400, 1/200th @ f/14.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 8:00 am

    Glad surgery went well. We all need down time for that all-important photo editing!

Leave a Reply

